2014 Grammy Award Reactions: Highlights

See the list of winners of the 56th Grammy Awards

See the list of winners of the 56th Grammy Awards

The winners for the 2014 Grammy Awards were announced on January 26th. Below find the highlights of the over 80 categories at these music kudos.

Update 16: And finally Random Access Memories wins Album of the Year. It is an extremely deserved award. Daft Punk has successfully merged funk and R&B with electronic. Plus, watching two robots accept an award is gratifying enough. Congratulations!

Update 15: A massive wedding officiated by Queen Latifah and topped off by a performance by Madonna and Miranda Lambert. Hm…

Update 14: Looks like Daft Punk got lucky tonight (last bad joke, I promise). The electronic DJ duo took Record of the Year with “Get Lucky.” The Grammys definitely got it right here. If any song is going to be awarded for its production, it would be this song.

Update 13: Lorde takes Song of the Year with “Royals”, which is no surprise by any means, but considering they gave Macklemore & Ryan Lewis 4 awards, I was assuming they would have no problem giving him another. The only thing I have a question about is why she didn’t get into Best New Artist or Album of the Year.

Update 12: And the Musgraves train just keeps on rolling after she won Best Country Album for Same Trailer Different Park over Album of the Year nominee Red by Taylor Swift.

Update 11: Surprisingly Bruno Mars’ Unorthodox Jukebox won Best Pop Vocal Album. This is surprising considering he has been nominated 18 times and has won twice including tonight.

Update 10: So I had no idea who Kasey Musgraves was before the Grammys and now I think I’m in love. The fact that her performance started off with “if you don’t save yourself for marriage you’re a whore.” Her performance of “Follow Your Arrow” actually made me really considering delving into country.

Update 9: In one of the more odd combinations of the night Kendrick Lamar and Grammy winners Imagine Dragons performed a mash-up of “Radioactive” and “M.A.A.D. City.” The best part is that it actually worked and is the best performance of the night. (Note: Taylor Swift was all about her awkward dancing during this performance.)

Update 8: After awkward presentation by Jamie Foxx the award for Best Rap /Sung Collaboration went to “Holy Grail” by Jay-Z and Justin Timberlake.

Update 7: Ariana Grande and Miguel presented the award for Best Pop Solo Performance to “Royals” by Lorde. First of all I loved the fact that they emphasized that this is a songwriter award by showing covers of the song. Second of all, LORDE IS A GRAMMY WINNER AND I THINK I FELL MORE IN LOVE WITH HER!

Update 6: I’ve been a defender of the song “Just Give Me a Reason”, but that yelling match that was Pink and Nate Ruess’ performance was pretty terrible. It just didn’t bring anything new for me.

Update 5: And the award for Best Rock Song goes to “Cut Me Some Slack”, which is a song from the soundtrack to the film Sound City. I guess it’s no surprise considering the name behind the song.

Update 4: John Legend sang words with the perfect beam of light shining down onto his girlfriend. Nice touch my friend.

Update 3: Katy Perry actually terrified me. I feel like my phone is gonna ring and someone’s gonna tell me “7 days.”

Update 3: Hunter Hayes was probably the more boring than watching a banana sitting on a stool on a stage. I say probably because I think I fell asleep halfway through.

Update 2: The award for Best Pop Duo/Group Performance goes to “Get Lucky”. I really hope they win more awards so that I can watch them stand on stage silently.

Update 1: I missed the opening number, but I did catch Lorde’s number. I understand being into your performance, but I honestly just think she forgets to pee before a performance. I will say that she looked absolutely amazing

PRE-SHOW AWARDS

Best Dance Recording: “Clarity” – Zedd ft. Foxes

Best Dance/Electronica Album: Random Access Memories – Daft Punk

Best Rock Performance: “Radioactive” – Imagine Dragons

Best Rock Album: Celebration Day – Led Zepplelin

Best Alternative Music Album: Modern Vampires of the City – Vampire Weekend

Best R&B Album: Girl on Fire – Alicia Keys

Best Rap Performance: “Thrift Shop” – Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Best Rap Song: “Thrift Shop” – Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Best Rap Album: The Heist – Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Best Country Solo Performance: “Wagon Wheel” – Darius Rucker

Leave a Reply

