A Reaction to “Joe Jonas: My Life As a Jonas Brother”

This is a reaction to the essay “Joe Jonas: My Life As a Jonas Brother” which was originally published in Vulture.

Joe Jonas wrote an essay outlining his life under Disney Channel.

Joe Jonas wrote an essay outlining his life under Disney Channel.

Currently it’s 12:43 A.M., and I have a final paper to do.

There’s more pressing issues right now. That Joe Jonas Letter doe.

You know, I’d like to think I grew up in a golden age of kid’s television. I grew up on Drake and Josh, Suite life of Zach and Cody, but certainly not Jonas. At age 12, you might as well of deemed yourself a loser rather than admitting you liked the Jonas Brothers. It was just a thing. Before they were big, they came to the middle school in my town. I didn’t see them, however I remember my brother did. I distinctly remember him telling me how everyone threw out all the free Cd’s that they gave to the people in attendance. Oh how the time have changed.

I imagine the immediate response to Mr. Jonas’s letter would be scolding, but you know I actually feel for the guy. I’ve grown up in the Taylor-ham ridden, tree-filled and bear occupied land of New Jersey. My life however has not extended much further than that. I haven’t smoked weed with Miley Cyrus, I haven’t worn a purity ring, I haven’t been a Disney kid, and I haven’t seen Demi Lovato punch someone in the face (It’s on my bucket list though). I don’t have 6,000,000 followers on twitter, I don’t have a band that tours the world and I don’t have fans that camp outside of my house and follow me when I go out to eat with my friends.  Let’s face it- being a celebrity sucks.  You can’t take a dump without 20 people taking photos of you and 18 people writing about it. Joe Jonas was a Disney kid. I feel like because of that he has a standard he has to live up to. He’s growing up but in a way I feel like his fans won’t let him. He’s still that that little innocent 16 year old everyone saw on the Disney channel. I don’t think him and his brothers want to want to hold onto that mold any longer. I respect him for that. It’s time for them to grow up and move on their lives and not to be ripped back by the leash that is Disney. R.I.P Jonas brothers.

Leave a Reply

